Instagram Photo Project

 

IMG_1057

This is the logo to the Children’s Institute.

mikki

“My disorder is called Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome. There are six known types, and I have type three called Hypermobility. It is a genetic disorder that is recessive, and parents do not show symptoms usually. This disorder has various symptoms, but the ones I experience include constant headaches, joint pain, and involuntary muscle movements. I was diagnosed in October of 2012, and will live with this disorder the rest of my life. There is no cure, but wearing braces on main joints like the knees and wrists, and going to physical therapy has helped a lot.”

Quote: “And though she be but little, she is fierce” ~Shakespeare

 

IMG_1073 IMG_1074 IMG_1075 IMG_1076

“He’s quiet till ya get to know him. And he has a great sense of humor. He also loves to sing and dance.”

IMG_1060 IMG_1061 IMG_1062 IMG_1063 IMG_1064

Equal in spelled out in sign language.

unemployment chart

This is a chart that I made for my project on special needs workers finding professional jobs. I felt that it fit in with this project because it shows an extra wall that stand in the way of special needs people.

IMG_1056 IMG_1055

This just shows how special needs are perceived in society.

IMG_1042

This is a picture of one of the students in my classroom at the Children’s Institute. It gives an idea of the type of children who go to the Day School there.

IMG_1069

Puppets were often used at the Children’s Institute to engage students and allow them to be interested in what they were learning.

IMG_1068

IMG_1070

These are used in the education of special needs teachers.

IMG_1067

A makeshift classroom.

IMG_1065 - Copy IMG_1066 - Copy

I stole this off of Twitter. It shows special needs kids who are given on opportunity and who have hope to live a typical life.

Leave a comment